Can jockeys still remount in jump races?

The answer is no, they cannot. Historically, it was possible, and entirely legal under the Rules of Racing, for any jump jockey who had parted company with his or her mount, by virtue of a fall or being unseated, during a race to remount and continue racing. Indeed, on more than one memorable occasion, in longer-distance steeplechases, a jockey has finished placed, or even won, having remounted. On April 7, 2001, Tony McCoy and Ruby Walsh both did so, to finish third and fourth, on Blowing Wind and Papillon, in the Grand National at Aintree and, on January 23, 2002, McCoy won an extraordinary race at Southwell, having originally been unseated from his mount, Family Business, just after halfway.

However, unless the governing body, the British Horseracing Authority (BHA), has an unlikely change of heart at some point in the future, such occurrences may never happen again. On November 2, 2009, the BHA instigated a new safety rule resulting from an incident involving the Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Kauto Star in a novices’ chase at Exeter back on January 31, 2005. Thereafter, the remounting of horses after the official start of a race was banned. The rule was introduced for the protection of both horses and jockeys. Sensibly enough, jockeys who are unseated at, or on the way to, the start – that is before the official ‘off’ – may still remount their horses, provided a doctor and veterinary officer are on hand to assess any possible injuries to either party.