Who has the reigning champion jockeys and trainers?

In Great Britain, horse racing under the Rules of Racing, as administered by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA), is staged under two codes, Flat and National Hunt. As the name suggests, Flat racing features no obstacles at all, while National Hunt racing, with a few exceptions, features obstacles in the form of hurdles or fences. Unsurprisingly, each code has its own jockeys’ and trainers’ championship, which is decided by the number of winners ridden, or the total prize money won, during a set period.

On the Flat, the champion jockey title is awarded to the jockey who rides the most winners in a ‘window’ between the Guineas Festival at Newmarket in early May and British Champions Day at Ascot in October. The champion trainer title in that sphere, though, is awarded to the trainer who wins the most prize money during the whole of the calendar year. At the time of writing, the respective reigning champions are William Buick, who won his second consecutive jockeys’ title in 2023, and John and Thady Gosden, who became the first licensed partnership to win the trainers’ championship.

Under National Hunt Rules, the champion jockey and trainer titles are awarded based as the same parameters as on the Flat, but the set period for both championhsips is the whole of National Hunt season, which runs from early May until the aptly-titled Jumps Finale Day at Sandown Park in late April.Again, at the time of writing, the respective reigning champions are Harry Cobden, who won his maiden jockeys’ title in 2023/24, and Willie Mullins, who became the first Irish-based trainer to win the British trainers’ championship for 70 years.